Great Idea: Syncing Google Chrome Bookmarks

Great Idea: Syncing Google Chrome Bookmarks

Sep 01

If you are a Google Chrome browser user, here’s a great idea: You can keep your bookmarks, browser preferences, and browser theme synchronized on multiple computers, using your Google Account. This can be handy if you often switch between different computers (say, your home computer as well as your work laptop) and want the same Google Chrome settings across your computers.

How it works

Your settings are saved in your Google Account. When you enable sync on a computer, your Google Chrome settings on that computer are saved in your Google Account. When you enable sync on another computer by signing in to the same Google Account, Google Chrome copies the settings you’ve selected to sync from your Google Account to the computer. Bookmarks from this second computer are merged with the existing bookmarks in your Google Account.

Changes are synced instantaneously. Changes you make to your settings on one computer are automatically reflected on the other computers where you’ve enabled the sync feature.

Your synced bookmarks also show up in Google Docs. Your bookmarks appear in a new folder called “Google Chrome.” So if you ever need to access your bookmarks on a different browser or computer, you can just visit Google Docs.

For more information, go here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.